By Foreign Authors Crime fiction Fiction

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – Book review

Tags:        

Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot #10) Book Cover Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot #10)
Hercule Poirot
Agatha Christie
Detective and mystery stories
HarperCollins UK
2001
Paperback
347
Bought it from Amazon

"Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Simon Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. One of his fellow passengers must be the murderer. Isolated by the storm and with a killer in the midst, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer amongst a dozen of the dead man's enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again..."

Introduction:

This was my first book of the year and second book of Agatha Christie after reading ‘And Then there were none’. I have received this book as a gift so I thought to start my new year with this book. Another thing is I have completed this book in the train while traveling to my hometown.  Let’s check out what behold this book.

Plot summary:

Hercule Poirot, a retired private detective boards the Tauras Express train to Stamboul (Istanbul). There are two more passengers and in the eyes of Poirot, they seem little weird. After this Poirot checks in the hotel but receives a telegram calling him back to the London. He has to go back with the Orient Express and in the hotel lobby; he meets his old friend M. Bouc who is the director of Wagon Lit.

After boarding the train, he notices the same passenger which he has seen in the Tauras express. He also notices Ratchett and Hector McQueen (Both were present in the same hotel). Ratchett asks Poirot to work for him as he is receiving threatening letters but Poirot refuses.

Bouc arranges a space in the first class for Poirot as the train is unusually full. On that night Ratchett was found dead in his compartment. The train is standing still due to heavy snowfall. The window is open, but there is no footprint in the snow. There is a handkerchief with initial of ‘H’ and a Pipe cleaner. Ratchett’s body has 12 stab wound.

The murderer could be a man or woman and he/she is still on the train. Poirot has to find the culprit before he/she does another crime. Read this fascinating book which wraps various mysteries and will leave you astonished.

Writing style:

The language is very simple and you can easily finish this book in a day.

My perception:

This book is truly amazing! I mean you can’t guess the killer and the character of Poirot is inspiring yet intriguing. The author has written this book in such a way that the mystery gets open with the layers. With each page, your urge to know the killer increases and you want to finish this book in no time. This book is certainly one of its own kinds. If you love mysteries then do not miss this book!

Grab a copy of this book from here, 

Until next time, Keep Reading 🙂 

Sheetal Maurya

Sheetal Maurya is a full-time blogger. She is a die-hard bookworm and has read more books than she can count. She believes in the art of storytelling and reviews books so that the world can choose the best ones and embark on an adventurous virtual reading journey.

    6 COMMENTS

  • Purba Chakraborty February 1, 2017 Reply

    well reviewed. I love the thrillers of Agatha Christie 🙂

    • Sheetal Maurya February 1, 2017 Reply

      Thank you Purba !

  • Jyotirmoy Sarkar February 1, 2017 Reply

    Agatha Christie is one of my fav. authors.

    • Sheetal Maurya February 1, 2017 Reply

      Same here !

  • Sana February 1, 2017 Reply

    I haven’t read any mysteries yet. But reading this review, I’m tempted to get one 🙂 Thank you so much for the review.

    • Sheetal Maurya February 1, 2017 Reply

      Yes Sana! This is an excellent mystery book 🙂

what do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • So excited to share my recent #bookhaul 🙌
All these books are from @ob.catalogue 
I wanted to read #Stephenking 's book since a long time and I finally find this in an affordable price. And I am really impressed by the way they have packed the books. It has reached on time and these books are in excellent condition 👍 guys go for @ob.catalogue
They are awesome and affordable.
💰
Special thanks to supersweet @tavleen_words for recommending these books to me. 🙏
.
.
Q- have you read any of these books? Please comment down below 😊
.
.
.
#bookreviewer #haloofbooks #booksaremylife #bookbloggers #booklover #indianbookworm #indianbookblogger #indianbookreviewer #secondhandbooks #bookphotography #bibilophile #booknerd #bookshelf #bookstagram #indianbookstagrammer #bookstagramindia #bookstagramindiafeature #bookishindian #instablogger #instablog #bookporn #bestbooks #toberead #tbr #buythesebooks #bookcollection #booknergidans #indianreaders
  • #Repost @thebookpiper (@get_repost)
Thanks for this giveaway @thebookpiper
#thebookpipergiveaway 😊
・・・
📕📕GIVEAWAY ALERT!!📕📕 This is my first giveaway so kinda skeptic about the response I'll get.🙈 I am giving away a copy of The Spy By Paulo Coelho (HARDCOVER)

The rules to participate in this giveaway.��😇
1. Follow @thebookpiper 
2. Tag 3 or more bibliophile friends in the comment section.

3. Repost this picture with the hashtag #thebookpipergiveaway so that I can keep a track of on participation.

4. Tag me in the repost.

5. Give a shout out on your story and tag me.

FOR ADDITIONAL ENTRY

6. Like my facebook page  fb.com/banajaprakashini.in

7. Visit my website and allow notifications (link in bio)

Do not follow to unfollow later because that's just rude, plus I'll block you and technically you will be out of the future giveaways.
This is an INDIA only giveaway. (Because international shipping is way too much for me😅)
Download the Repost app in order to be able to repost. :) No giveaway accounts please.
Last date to enter 1st July. (My sister's birthday💜)
This giveaway is not associated to Instagram.

GOOD LUCK!💜💜 #books #booknerd #bookishindulgences #bookstagram #bookstagrammers #bookstagramindia #bookaholic #booklove #bibliophile #booknerdigans #booklover #booklove #booklife #bookpiper #photogenicbooks #bookworms #bookstagramfeatureindia  #igreads  #bookstagrammer #giveaway #thebookpipergiveaway #thebookpiper #india #giveawayindia #giveawayalert #bookgiveaway.
  • #newpost on the blog 📣 
#bookreview #dumbwitness by #agathachristie .
.
Rating 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 .
.
There would be many mystery writers but none of them come close to Agatha Christe, We have already read and reviewed ‘And then there were none’, ‘Murder on the Orient Express’ & ‘The ABC Murders’. I wanted to grab this book for a long time as the title and blurb are really intriguing. So, when I find this book at Flora fountain I purchased it in no time. This is the Book 16 of Hercule Poirot series.
.
.
💡Check full review on my blog, link is in profile 💡
.
.
.
#bookreviewer #haloofbooks #booksaremylife #bookbloggers #booklover #indianbookworm #indianbookblogger #indianbookreviewer #mystery #murdermystery #indianauthor #bookphotography #bibilophile #booknerd #bookshelf #bookstagram #indianbookstagrammer #herculepoirot #detective #bookporn #booknerd #booknergidans #instablogger #instablog #internationalauthor #mustread #readers
  • #Repost @lifediariesndreams (@get_repost) thanks for this giveaway @lifediariesndreams 😊#lifediariesndreamstyga 💜
・・・
I have been thinking of thanking everyone since a longtime...Though I have been reading all my  life, I came across this lovely community only a year ago...In this short period of time, I have received immense love here, made some lovely friends and shared some wonderful thoughts...Time to say 'Thank You'
I have never hosted a giveaway..So I am doing this only to give back some love... 😍  The reason for picking these books, Firstly The Kite Runner is a wonderful book..But it became special when I won another copy of it in a giveaway...It meant a lot...Especially coz it came on a day when I was really low...So this book will always be special..
The Girl Who Played with Fire was one of the first crime fiction that I read..And I loved it...So began my love for another new genre..
So I had to pick these two special books of which I have fond memories over some of the latest ones..
Rules for the giveaway-
 1. You do not have to follow me to qualify..( It will be great to make new friends but at your will)
2 Repost and use hashtag #lifediariesndreamstyga so that I get to know of your entries.
3 Also put in a comment so that I wont miss out  by mistake 
These books will come along with some lovely surprises for the winners...
I will pick out two winners who receive one of these along with some surprises😍
 Open for Indian Residents Only ( I will do an international in the coming month) 
Last date of entry is 30th June..
Will announce the winners in first week of July  #lifediariesndreamstyga
#giveaway
#bookstagramindia
#bookstagram 
#thankyou #love#giveawayindia #friends#books#happiness 😘
  • #Repost @thebookfever (@get_repost) Thank you for this giveaway @thebookfever 😊
・・・
Its time to #GIVEAWAY 03 👈
.
👉 Winner will get Autographed Book of Author Inderjit Kaur & some goodies.
.
HOW TO WIN -
--------------------------
All Steps are Compulsory --------------------------
.
Step 1. Follow @thebookfever and @alivingseries if you have not followed yet.
.
Step 2. Like this post and TAG your 5 friends in comment.
.
Step 3. Repost this picture with same description and TAG us.
.
Step 4. Post it on Instagram Story and TAG Us.
.
👉 Contest will be closed on 23rd June 2017
.
👉 Result will be declared on 24th June 2017 .
.
www.bookfever.in
#Bookfever
#BookfeverStore
  • #newpost on the blog 📣 
#bookreview #indiawasone by An #indian .
.
Rating 🌟 🌟 🌟 .
.
I have received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review so at first I would like thanks him. India is often termed as a country having ‘unity in diversity’. This is the only country which has multiple religions and languages. Each region has its own significance.  Where all these makes India, a multicultural country. However many a time this becomes the main reason of riots and disturbance. The author has weaved the story around this issue. .
.
🌻 Do check out the full review on the blog, link is in profile 🌻 .
.
.
#bookreviewer #haloofbooks #booksaremylife #bookbloggers #booklover #indianbookworm #indianbookblogger #indianbookreviewer #bookworm #booksaremylife #bookphotography #bibilophile #booknerd #bookshelf #bookstagram #indianbookstagrammer #indianreaders #booknergidans #bookstagramindia #bookstagramindiafeature #bookishindian #instablogger #instablog #fiction #indianauthor #unityindiversity #IssuesinIndia
  • #newpost on the blog 📣 
#bookreview #anindianspyinpakistan by  #mohanlalbhaskar .
.
Rating 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 | reviewed by @puja_kshirsagar
.
.
I came across this book while surfing Kindle Unlimited for a good read. The name of this book itself was so captivating that I couldn’t stop myself from downloading it. The poor India-Pakistan relations have always been a topic of concern for both the countries. And having watched the movie ‘Sarabjit’ wherein the lead character is show to be captured and mercilessly tortured by the Pakistani authorities, this immediately caught my fancy. I was keen to know about the life of an Indian spy in Pakistan. .
.
💮 Check out the full review on the blog,  link is in profile 💮
.
.
.
#bookreviewer #haloofbooks #booksaremylife #bookbloggers #booklover #indianbookworm #indianbookblogger #indianbookreviewer #bookworm #bookphotography #bibilophile #booknerd #autobiography #indianspy #indiapakistan
#nonfiction #bookstagram #indianbookstagrammer #bookstagramindia #bookstagramindiafeature #bookishindian #instablogger #instablog #bookporn #booknerd #kindleunlimited  #translatedbooks
  • #newpost on the blog 📣 
#bookreview #3andahalfmurders by #salildesai .
.
Rating 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 .
.
This book comes as a giveaway copy from the book blogger Vishnu. (Not to mention a long time ago :P) so big thanks to him as well as to the author & publisher for sending this book to me. Pooja has already read and reviewed the first two parts of the Inspector Saralkar mystery i.e. ‘Murder of Sonia Raikkonen’ and ‘Killing Ashish Karve’ ; after reading her convincing review I decided to read this book.
.
.
.
🔽full review is on the blog, you can find the link in profile 🔼
.
.
.
#bookreviewer #haloofbooks #booksaremylife #bookbloggers #booklover #indianbookworm #indianbookblogger #indianbookreviewer #newpost #murdermystery #indianauthor #fiction #thriller #suspence #gripping #unputdownable #bookstagramindia #bookstagramindiafeature #bookphotography #bibilophile #booknerd #booknergidans #instablogger #instablog #detective #bookporn #booknerd #indianreaders

%d bloggers like this: